Last night's 2010 Captioning Awards was a celebration of all the achievements made in captioning over the last year...

Last night’s 2010 Captioning Awards, hosted byDeafness Forum of Australia, was an event celebrating the many achievements made in captioning services over the last year.

Myf Warhust, of Spicks & Specks fame, played MC to a room filled to the brim with broadcasters, service providers, organisations and supporters of innovations and inventions and that have made a critical impact on the lives of people with deafness and hearing impairment.

A star-studded line up of presenters, including Alex Jones, Nick Watkins, Tony Abrahams, Adam ScottDeanne WeirPetra Buchanan and Alex Varley covered broad topics around television content volumes, the NDIS and the difference people are making delivering solutions and accessibility to the D&HI community.

Nick Watkins stole the show with stories and insights into the life of a deaf person, and he encouraged everyone to embrace an inclusive society focussed on giving kids with deafness more choices in how they access education, entertainment and experiences.

Announcements earlier in the day by SKY News and FOX Sports around the commencement of live closed captioning from October 1, 2010 were the highlight of the night’s celebrations. Ai-Media joined their broadcast clientele to congratulate them for the robust delivery of accessible content they deliver to their subscribers.

Ai-Media congratulates all the winners - we’ll see you at the Captioning Awards next year!


2010 Roma Wood OAM Community Award

Winner: Michael Lockrey


2010 Award for DVD Captioning

Winner: ICON Film Distribution

Highly Commended: Universal Pictures (Australasia) Pty Ltd


2010 Members Choice Award

Winner: Cohabitation: Bondi


2010 Award for Event Captioning

Winner: Ai-Live™ - Project Digby

Highly Commended: Street TV FOXTEL Management Pty Limited


2010 Award for Best Promotion of Captioning or Best Consumer Education Campaign

Winner: FOXTEL Call Centre

Highly Commended: Cinema NOVA


2010 Award for TV Captioning – Subscription TV

Winner: The Comedy Channel

Highly Commended: FOXTEL Next Generation


2010 Award for TV Captioning – Free to Air TV

Winner: Australian Broadcasting Corporation - ABC1

Highly Commended: Masterchef - Network TEN

Highly Commended: FIFA World Cup – SBS Television


2010 Award for Most Consistent Captioning

Winner: Nick Jr Australia

Highly Commended: XYZ Networks


2010 Award for the Best New Captioning Initiative

Winner: ABC iView Closed Captioning Service

Highly Commended: CaptionsDirect

Live Captioning on Fox Sports
DFA Announces Acting CEO